How to use Watch2Gether
Watch2Gether is a social video website that allows you to watch videos and other content in-sync with others. In the following you learn how to use Watch2Gether and its features.
Watch2Gether is not a streaming service where one user broadcasts and the others are just watching. Instead every user in a room can browse for content and select videos or audio tracks to be played for everyone in the room.
The site supports a wide range of content sources such as Youtube, Dailymotion, Vimeo, and Soundcloud. For not directly integrated sources such as Netflix, Disney Plus or Amazon Prime you can use the W2gSync feature which can synchronize external sources with the help of our browser extension.
Creating a Room
You can create a room from the frontpage of Watch2Gether (https://w2g.tv) by clicking on
Create your Room
After your room has loaded, you see the userlist at the bottom of the screen. Currently you are the only visitor.
By default a random user name is assigned to you. You can change the name by simply clicking on it.
A Watch2Gether room is automatically deleted after 24 hours. If you want to keep your room, you have the option to save it. Before you can save rooms, you have to create a free Watch2Gether account.
In a new room you are the only user who is present. Although you can use Watch2Gether just by yourself the fun begins when you invite some friends to watch with you. To do so, click on the add user icon in the top right of the room.
Send the displayed link to one or more of your friends. You can use any possible way to send the link. Email, Facebook, WhatsApp, Skype, …
All rooms are private by default. The link to a room is nowhere published on Watch2Gether and there are no random users send to your room automatically. However, there are no limitation where you can share the link yourself.
When your friend(s) have joined the room, they appear in the userlist at the bottom of the room.
The user avatars can have little icons attached to them:
- A “Crown” icon: This user is the owner (creator) of a room.
- A “Plus” icon: This user is a Watch2Gether +PLUS member.
Limits: You can invite hundreds of users into a Watch2Gether room. However, the webcam feature (see bellow) will only work for up to 10 users / room.
In a Watch2Gether room you can select and view videos from various supported platforms such as Youtube, Vimeo, Soundcloud and many others…
Every content selection starts with the search bar at the top of the page.
Watch2Gether has a number of build-in apps that add support for various content platforms. By clicking on the apps symbol on the left side of the search bar you can see which Watch2Gether apps are available.
After you have selected an app you can use the search bar to search for content on the related platform. The icon of the currently selected app / platform is displayed on the left side of the search input field.
The results of the search are displayed under the video player. By clicking on the thumbnail or the video title the video is loaded and shown in the video player.
Now everyone in the room sees the same video. The video is shown in-sync which means that everyone sees the same moment of the video and accordingly when a user clicks on the Pause button the video will be paused for every user in the room.
Sometimes you might already have a direct link to a piece content (a link to a Youtube video for example) and you would like to play the link in a Watch2Gether room.
In this case you can simply paste that link into the search bar. You don’t have to select the related Watch2Gether app beforehand. The related app is auto-selected and the video can be played from the search results.
Using the Chat
While watching the video together, you can talk to your friends through the built-in chat. By default the chat is hidden, you can open it by clicking on the chat icon in the bottom right of the room.
Once the chat is opened you can send messages and emojis to your friends in the room.
Watch2Gether has build-in support for webcam video & audio so that you can directly see and hear the reactions of your friends. Up to 10 users can enable their cams. If a room hosts more than 10 users the webcam feature will automatically be disabled. All other features of the room will continue to work.
To enable your video and audio feed, use the controls on the right side of the userlist:
The arrows next to the cam / mic symbol can be used to select the video or audio source.
By default each users cam video is displayed in the user avatar. By clicking on the video, the feed can be displayed on the main screen as well.
Moderate your Room
By default all users in a Watch2Gether room have the right to search for videos and play them in the room. This works well in a room with a smaller number of users and is the way Watch2Gether is intended to be used. However, there are situations where you want to have more control over the content being played in your room.
By enabling one of the Room Moderation Options, only the owner of a room has the right to perform certain actions in a room. To do so, click on the Settings Icon in the top right corner of a room you own to open the Room Settings.
Scroll down in the settings dialog to the Enable Moderation section:
When enabled, the options have the following impact on the room :
- Members only: New users who are coming to the room have to be approved by the room owner.
- Player: Only the room owner can select videos or control the playback of a video (play, pause, seek…)
- Playlist: Only the room owner can change playlists.
- Colors: Only the room owner can change the appearance of a room (colors and background image).
Instead of playing a video directly, you can add it to a playlist. To do so, click on the
Add to Playlist Icon at the bottom of a video in the search results. The video is then added to the currently selected playlist.
The current playlist can can be selected in the sidebar on the right side of the room. In a new room there is only one playlist called Watch2Gether Default. You can add additional playlists in the Playlist Manager by clicking on the settings icon under the playlist selector.
The current playlist can used in three different modes which can be switched on the left side under the playlist selector.
These modes are (from left to right)
- Normal: The items in the list are played in the order they appear in the list.
- Shuffle: The items in the list are played in random order.
- Voting: The users in the room can vote for list items and the ones with the most votes are played first.
Watch2Gether supports a couple of Keyboard Shortcuts for your convenience.
Your Watch2Gether Account
The core features of Watch2Gether can be used without an account. However, creating a free account has the following benefits:
- You can save your rooms so that they are not deleted after 24 hours
- You can pick a custom avatar image
- You don’t have to select a nickname every time you enter a room
- You get an overview of all rooms you participate in
- You have the option to upgrade your account to a Watch2Gether +PLUS membership
Go here to create a free account: Sign Up
Please get in touch if you have any further questions or issues using Watch2Gether:
Here in the forum https://community.w2g.tv/
or by email